New Book Release: School of Hard Knocks

Please join me in congratulating Theresa Crater on the publication of School of Hard Knocks! I had the pleasure of working with Theresa on a copyedit of this moving tale of two women from very different backgrounds bound together by past transgressions and the hope of a different future. Here's the book description:

The segregation lines are clear in 1950s North Carolina, but the bloodlines—not so much. The past and present intertwine when Maggie Winters risks a friendship with Lily and rescues her daughter and Lily from abuse by the same family that tormented Maggie as a young girl in the 1890s.

Raised on a decaying plantation in 1890s North Carolina, Maggie Winters sees it all—a woman beaten nearly to death, hidden in the barn, and healed by her African-American mother; a man lynched; and the machinations of a white woman hired to teach her to read but who has become determined to marry Maggie’s widowed white father. When Maggie’s father is forced by his Virginia family to marry someone more appropriate, Maggie and her mother are left without protection.

In the 1950s, young Caroline Hauser copes with her mother Lily’s descent into madness by reaching out to the spirit world. Caroline’s mother begs Maggie to help save her child from damnation.

Will appeal to readers of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help.

School of Hard Knocks is available now in ebook and print format on Amazon, iTunes, and Barnes & Noble. Add it to your shelves on Goodreads, and visit Theresa's website for the scoop on all of her books, her thoughts on writing about important issues, and her travel log.

Need some help with your WIP?
Email me anytime to chat about your project!
jennyq@historicaleditorial.com

Comments

  1. It's all the better because of your eagle eye. Thanks for much for your editing and for letting people know about it.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Book Cover Design for Historical Fiction

New Book Release: The Fire Within

New Book Release: The Mother Keeper