New Book Release: The Column of Burning Spices


Please join us in congratulating P.K. Adams on the publication of her new historical novel, The Column of Burning Spices, sequel to The Greenest Branch! Jessica Cale had the pleasure of working with P.K. on a copyedit, and Jenny had the pleasure of designing the cover. Here's the book description:

The year is 1143. Hildegard, already a well-known physician, has expanded her work to writing not just about medicine but on theological matters as well. Once again, the monks of St. Disibod are there to stop her, citing the biblical passages that admonish against “women teachers.” Also, Abbot Kuno is aging, and it is only a matter of time before he is succeeded in the post by Prior Helenger, who wants nothing more than to see Hildegard permanently relegated to the convent’s enclosure.

Leaving St. Disibod is Hildegard’s only hope of continuing her mission of healing and writing as she sees fit. She has been saving money from the convent's endowments for years, but in order to establish her own foundation she will need the backing of a powerful man of the Church. There are several who could become her champions - from the famed Abbot Bernard of Clairvaux, to the Archbishop of Mainz, to the newly elected Pope Eugenius III. But will they take up a woman’s cause and subvert centuries of established tradition? And will it be enough to protect Hildegard from a betrayal that lurks closer than she could ever imagine?

Set against the backdrop of the lush oak forests, vineyard-covered hills, and sparkling rivers of the Rhineland, The Column of Burning Spices is a tale of courage, strength, sacrifice, and love that will appeal to fans of Ken Follett, Sharon Kay Penman, Bernard Cornwell, and Conn Iggulden.

The Column of Burning Spices is available now in print and ebook format on Amazon. Add it to your shelves on Goodreads, and visit P.K.'s website for more about the book, historical articles, and book reviews!

Need an editor or cover designer?
Email us anytime to chat about your project!
info@historicaleditorial.com

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Book Cover Design for Historical Fiction

New Book Release: Dagger's Destiny

New Book Release: Antonius: Son of Rome